The Fear…Of Fear

Okay, so I haven’t been posting that much here because between editing a book, developing short story ideas, and growing a different blog, I don’t have much time to put my thoughts here. It’s a good and bad thing. Good because it means I’m actually doing shit, and bad because I’m not working on sorting through stuff that gets to me. Although I’m not putting it in electronic print, there are little things that can still get to me.

For example, my revision process still isn’t going fast enough for my liking. I’m really having to look harshly at my first few chapters to get them to match how the book ends, and sorting that stuff out with already written material is a huge pain in the ass. On top of that, with depressive episodes randomly striking, I often lose focus because I start believing the whole thing ought to be trashed. Or, better still, I kick my own ass for losing focus in the first place. That said, I’m still hacking away at it. Things will improve when I get to large chunks of text I can keep.

Another thing that’s been getting to me is the high level of antics I keep seeing on TV about current events. Headlines get alarmist, people freak out, and I’m really trying to reduce the level of anxiety in my life. All of this reminds me of the speech that FDR gave, where he remarked that all we have to fear is fear itself. If that’s true, then we all should be very afraid indeed.

And I’m not saying this to give in to that alarmist thinking. Rather, I’m seeing more and more how panic is able to spread as fast as social media and other communication will allow it. Yeah, spreading news by a messenger on foot is painfully slow, but at least the messenger would be too tired to freak out about it. It just feels like everywhere I go to find solace, there’s someone out there screaming about how the sky will fall. Even if I didn’t have a problem with anxiety, I’d probably still have a problem with this kind of anxiety.

Something I’ve started doing is looking at nature pictures. They relax me, especially if they involve beaches. I hope can continue to have that, at least until someone manages to put some shitty news articles in with them. When that happens, I don’t know where I’ll be able to go to lose my fear of fear.

Photo by Giovanni Gagliardi.  Source.

Photo by Giovanni Gagliardi. Source.

10 thoughts on “The Fear…Of Fear

  1. A friend of mine was upset. I advised him to put some whale songs on and look at soothing animals pictures or sea surf. He told me it worked. Nice post. I found I am negatively affected by the election and stuff that has happened since. Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Switching off can be helpful. I find switching off from anything north of the Equator, the rest of Africa and South America, and that desert continent off to our west, and the islands north of it, makes the world is a much nicer place 🙂

    Just kidding. But in all honesty, people seem to have knee jerk reactions to headlines and tweets rather than taking time to digest information in a considered manner. The problem is that bad news sells, and good news doesn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Barry for a moment, I thought you didn’t like me.
      But I agree with you, if it is possible to avoid TV, you will be a step closer to taking care of anxiety.
      You can avoid company of doomsday prophets, except me, of course

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not like you? How is that possible? You’re simply an unfortunate victim of circumstances. Being born so far from the only truly civilised nation is not your fault. I think you’ve turned out remarked well – considering the circumstances.

        Like

  3. It’s challenging to stay informed of current events without experiencing anxiety and in many cases, justifiable fear. Plus, the brain naturally developes with a greater sensitivity to unpleasant news. Negativity bias is so automatic that it can be detected at the earliest stage of the brain’s information processing. I play tricks with my brain, and take denial vacations. I’m with you about looking at images. I could spend hours and hours on morguefile.com, while listening to some good turns.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

